09 Blog Post – Elements of Art

Black and White Final

 

 

Color Focal Point

 

 

Texture

 

 

Small Depth Blurry Background

 

 

Organic Shapes

 

 

Not a Lot of Space

 

 

Natural Line

 

 

 

Man Made Line

 

 

Geometric Shape

 

 

Feels 3D

 

 

1. What strengths and weaknesses do you see in your own work?

I struggled a bit with editing my photos. It was strenuous and I still have a lot to learn about not only editing but photoshop too. I think however that my strengths were my ability to find the right lighting. I think that in a couple of my pictures I got some really good lighting.

2. How might you improve or refine your approach in future photography projects?

I think that I could watch a couple of videos on how to edit better on my photos. I also think that I could be a little more focused when I was outside. This would help me to find better angles, better subjects, and better lighting.

3. Pick one of your photos, what emotions or messages did you intend to convey through this photograph?

I think that my photo with the pink flower was really special. What caught my eye about this flower, was the bright colors in it. It looked so beautiful especially in the morning sunlight.

4. Are there specific elements of art you would like to explore further in your photography?

I would like to explore nature photography more. I really enjoyed snapping pictures of the flowers and the animals. It was really exciting to find an animal and try to get as close as possible without scaring it.

5. What concepts or techniques do you want to experiment with in your next project?

I would like to get a couple of pictures at night. It would be really cool to get some different lighting and get more of a dark look into the photos. I would also like to experiment with more spacious photos. I would like to get some pictures out on the field and get some space.

 

5 thoughts on “09 Blog Post – Elements of Art”

  1. The best two photos in the blog are the black and white final, and the small depth blurry background picture. A better picture could be the “feels 3D” picture. The picture seems as if it was taken with low effort and laziness. In one photo, the value picture, you can tell that Will used the RULE OF THIRDS.

  2. I like the photo’s texture and small depth of field . These photos interest me a lot because the setting of the close up turf is a great find for texture. The small depth of field uses patterns and repetition and the pattern is disrupted with the pink flower which immediately brings my eye to it. The photo 3D form feels like a lazy photo because the photo is taken in a bright setting which brightens the gray and takes away the look of the 3d by distracting viewers with light. The photo doesn’t feel like it was taken with much passion and not a lot of thought behind it. A way to fix this can be finding a darker area and a material that looks more 3d like a ball or a brick.

  3. Williams’ photos are fun and interesting. My two favorite photos out of his collection are his color photo and his black and white final photo. I like these because they bring a sense of vibrance. The photo that he could have done better is not a lot of space photos. The edges are very blurry which he could improve on. Will also uses FRAMING in the photo of the natural line. This makes the photo much more intriguing.

  4. William did okay in his picture blog. He added lots of pictures with elements of art but none of them stand out a ton. My favorite of his works includes his 3D photo because I can really feel like I am in the field looking at the L screen. Another of his picturesI really like is his black and white photo of Ryan because it’s a great photo. My least favorite of his photos is his geometric shape photo or his sign picture. This photo is just bland and boring to me and I don’t see much in it besides a rock and a sign. I absolutely love his focal color point picture because the red shirt stands out to me and I love the display of the fence and bits of turf in the background. All in all, I liked William’s blog but I know William, and I know he is a smart guy, and I believe he could have put more effort and work into his blog and make it significantly better.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *