Ryan Williams posing with an apple
Dad eating an apple

Q1 How did you choose the specific types of food for each portrait? What is their significance? Explain – be specific! (3 sentences min.)

I chose an apple for each of my photos. I liked them for their unique and bright colors. I liked its shape too.

Q2 Consider the lighting in your photographs. What was the light source in each of your photos. What time of day? How did it affect the mood and atmosphere of the portraits? Explain – be specific!  (3 sentences min.)

The lighting in my photo at school was the sun at morning. It was a better lighting than if it would be at noon. The lighting for my photo at home was the kitchen lights. It was at night so there was no sunlight coming through the windows.

Q3 Think about the composition of your photos. Name the composition technique you used for each photo. Why did you choose to crop your photos as shown? Be specific! (3 sentences min.)

I wanted my food to be at the center of the image. This way it would catch the viewer’s eye immediately. I used the crop tool to make this happen.

Q4 How do the colors and color splash technique in your photographs contribute to the overall impact of the images? Why did you choose to mask the specific areas in color for each photo? Be specific!  (3 sentences min.)

The color in both of my apples was bright so it caught the viewer’s eye. Red catches the viewer’s eye quickly so I chose a red apple. I chose to mask the areas that I believed were less bright or were less eye catching.

Q5 Consider the technical aspects of your photography, such as focus (lens size 75-300(lg) or 18-35(reg), or iphone mode/focus), depth of field (blurry background), and exposure (value in PS adjustment of your black, grays, whites). How did you use these techniques to enhance your images? Be specific! (3 sentences min.)

I chose to take a far background photo for my at school photo so I got the background in. There also was not any light in the background so you focus on the subject.
Q6 What advice would you give to next year’s students for shooting food portraits? Be specific! (3 sentences min.)

I would suggest that they do not wait until the last minute to take their pictures. I think it’s important to prioritize it and spend a good amount of time editing them. I also would suggest to not just quickly take a picture. They should take into account the lighting and other elements in their pictures. If they do this it should be a breeze.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *